Recent work

SAMA and Emmy award-winning composer, musical arranger and producer, JB Arthur has made music his life since becoming a professional musician in 1977, and continues to do so, working alongside some of South Africa’s and the worlds greats.

From conducting a full orchestra at age twenty four to receiving the highest accolades the industry offers, JB Arthur’s musical journey has been as vibrant as the music he creates.

Working across all disciplines, harnessing the beauty and power of every imaginable musical genre -  rock, pop, African, world music, orchestral, big band, inspirational, jazz, and gospel - JB has added soul to countless films, documentaries, commercials, live concerts and television shows.

Most notable achievements include producing all the music for the 2010 FIFA World Cup final draw and co-producing the music, together with long-time friend and collaborator Victor Masondo for the World Cup closing ceremony watched by over 2.5 billion people worldwide. JB also composed and produced the score for the Emmy award-winning “Eye of the Leopard”, a National Geographic documentary. and the soundtrack for the film “Story of an African Farm” for which he won a SAMA Award.

JB revised and produced all of Mnet’s Carte Blanche music and contributed significantly to the music score for the features “Crazy Monkey: Straight Outta Benoni”, “Mr Bones” and “Hansie”.

Aside from his involvement in features, JB has created and  composed the music for many of the country’s most beloved and iconic commercials as well as imaging themes for SABC 1,2 ,3 and Mnet.

His involvement in television shows is also notable. JB has been the Music Director for five successful seasons of Strictly Come Dancing on SABC and numerous pageants including Miss South Africa and Miss World.

JB’s well-known studio, Joe’s Garage, has produced projects for some of South Africa’s leading musical talents including Watershed, Ringo, Freshly Ground, PJ Powers and Tony Cox, to name a few.